Creating a Cycling Family

Your Brain – The Fourth Event.

In Uncategorized on January 20, 2011 at 5:20 AM

By: Eric Taylor

Sales@Hutch’s

This triathlon training is HARD. I’m really starting to see where a lot of the personality and abilities of triatheletes come from. One has to dedicate themselves to 5-8 workouts a week, and that’s if you are taking it easy! Devoting enough time to do the workouts I’m doing is starting to make a change in my lifestyle and way of thinking. The biggest question this week has been, how dedicated to this am I? What do I want to get out of training this year?

We have been talking about mental training quite a bit at the shop. These conversations have involved a couple doses of tough love towards me. I’ve realized that if I want to get fast I’m going to have to make sacrifices. I’m going to have to do things that I don’t always want to do. In Kurt’s words, “ Watching Law & Order with Mark and the cat is not going to make you fast”, how I wish he was wrong. But I have to ask myself, “What kind of athlete do I want to be? Do I simply want to finish this event or do I want to give it everything I’ve got?”  I have yet to answer these questions fully, but I know the answers will shape my life in one-way or another.

So, I’m a bit mental right now, but physically I have been making gains. This past Sunday John’s wife Annette made me a swimmer. She broke down each piece of the stroke into drills. By doing this, I was able to focus on each piece clearly. It allowed me to really understand each component of the stroke and work on it. In the past I just flailed in the water in hopes of not drowning. This Sunday, I was moving with confidence and the knowledge that yes I could do this. Sunday was awesome.

I’ve also been running 3 days a week. I’m doing a little under 5k each time and focusing on my form. My legs are sore, but I feel like I’m making progress. I have to train a whole new set of muscles in my legs, and that is going to take some time. I’m really looking forward to running 10k’s regularly, but that is still a few weeks away.

I’m having a lot of fun with this training and I hope that you are enjoying reading it. It has been great to keep a journal like this. In closing, I want to ask for your help with mental training. How have you pushed yourself to do the workout you didn’t want to do? Was it worth it?  What did it take to dedicate yourself enough to dramatically alter your life for your goals?  Thanks for your help!

Leave a Reply

