Creating a Cycling Family

Triathalon Bound – The First swim.

In Uncategorized on December 14, 2010 at 12:05 AM

“Really, is this happening?” As my alarm went of at 6:00 am this past thursday I was almost in disbelief that I was getting up this early to go swimming. I had, at most, 6 hrs of restless sleep thinking about the mornings work out. Regardless, I slipped on my rain pants, turned on my lights and hopped on my bike to head downtown.

 

I met up with John at the D.A.C, and he had a solid workout planned. We began with an 8 minute time trial on the tread mill followed by a tabata, core work intervals and finally swimming. It was AWESOME. I really enjoyed getting a jump-start on the day and accomplishing something solid before most people had even gotten out of bed.

 

As we went down to the pool, I have to say I was a bit nervous. I hadn’t been in the pool in almost 2 years, and I was having flashbacks to all the uneasy memories I had from my childhood swimming, Well, screw it I’m getting in and I’m going to like it.

 

I basically just flailed around for a while. I had no idea what I was doing and it became very clear that I have a long way to go. John put a float between my legs to allow me to focus on my arms. That helped a bit, but I was struggling with breathing. then John found a snorkel, that helped a lot. With those two things, I was able to focus exclusively on my arms. I made great progress that day, and it made me feel a whole lot better about the swim. I feel like I really can do this. Swimming will be a lot of hard work, but I know I can do it and I’m excited about it.

 

There is much more to come. I’m excited about where my fitness is headed. This next 6 months is going to be a lot of physical and mental growth for me. It’s going to be challenging and rewarding, but I know I can do it. I will conquer this.

Leave a Reply

