Creating a Cycling Family

Eugene Twilight Crit Races

In Uncategorized on July 7, 2009 at 10:06 PM

By Darren Ohl, Service Manager-Hutch’s Eugene

It’s no secret I’m nerds about movies. It’s also no secret I’m big on making my own little films. It was an intense hobby for me when I lived in Florida. That sort of thing took a back seat when I moved out here to Oregon. Mostly to help put Krystan through school (making even the cheapest little short movies can cost a bit of money). I was talking with a customer of ours about that hobby and it turns out he’s got the same passion as I do.

He sent me over this cool little youtube video he made of the Tuesday night crits at Greenhill Industrial Park here in Eugene. We’ve been having a blast yelling at our cat 4 employee team and also urging on our totally rad Hutch’s sponsored team. Nick Skenzick swept the first part of the series, finishing off the series on a borrowed bike! Tonight, July 7th is the start of the second part of the series where they run the course in reverse. We’ll all be out there shouting obnoxiously and generally putting on a show of bicycle hooliganry and you can even bring the kids and hang out or race the kiddy kilo! Either way it’s a nice fun time to watch some local legends and blow off some summer time steam!

On other news. I’ve finished the basic design for the box car. Rob English from Bike Friday came out to look at the design and had a ton of advice and words of encouragement. It took a little longer than I thought. I’m not sure that I’ll be able to finish in time for the Portland Adult Soap Box Car Race but I’m not going to let that slow me down.

Keep an eye on the site in the next month or so for some of that creative video work we talked about in the last blog as well. I hope you are all having a great summer so far!


Leave a Reply

