Creating a Cycling Family

Turkey Consumption?

In Uncategorized on November 29, 2008 at 12:51 AM

By Darren Ohl, Service Manager-Hutch’s Eugene

My girlfriend is a vegan. I am not. However I respect her choices (obviously) so this Thanksgiving I am

Thanksbicycling

Thanksbicycling

showing that I am thankful for my girlfriend by cooking her (and our two roommates) an all vegan Thanksgiving meal.

All the stuffing and mashed potatoes and corn and green beans and tofu you could eat. And with probably just a little too much food in our stomaches and perhaps a little bit more free time than we’ve been used to lately we all sat around the kitchen table and talked and laughed.

I grew up on welfare in the Middle-West, so when I have days like Thursday I really feel like I’ve gotten somewhere, like I’ve done something. As I look forward to Christmas (this year my girlfriend and I have said we’ll save our money instead of buying presents) I think about the coming year and I get excited. There are going to be so many great things coming our way in 2009. The first African-American president will be sworn in to office. My first winter in 6 years could mean some snow fall (whether I have to drive to the mountains to see it or not!) and of course the upcoming year at Hutch’s as the shop manager.

The greatest anticipation for the simplest pleasures...

The greatest anticipation for the simplest pleasures...

So what are you looking forward to this year? Have any totally rad plans? A cool trip coming up? Let us know, send us an email or simply reply to this blog and let us know.

Keep an eye out for a contest regarding those questions sometime in December.

Happy Holidays from the Hutch’s bike nerds!

  1. I too have a lot to look forward to, and appreciate what’s behind me too. I am grateful for all the employees that stepped up and made this year something to remember in a very positive way. It was very hard being so busy and SO short staffed. I am also greatful for the new guys we were lucky enough to get. They are really making a difference already. Thanks to all, and special thanks go to Darren, so far it’s been a great ride…Sorry for the cliché. Jay OBS

Leave a Reply

